I Had Such High Hopes For This Year

I really did.

2012 was a challenging year for me. By the end of the year, I was exhausted. I spent a good part of the year entrenched in taking care of my family. I spent an obscene amount of hours at doctor’s offices and hospitals learning about medical conditions, advocating for the patients and helping my loved ones cope with their medical problems.

I took the last week of the year off from work since the kids were home from school. And while I had plans to visit with family and friends, we found that we, as a family, we were very content with just staying home and not running around meeting deadlines.

It was so relaxing to just sit back and not do a friggin damned thing. It was refreshing to not have to race against the clock. So by New Year’s Eve, I was refreshed, recharged and ready to face a new day and a new year. I had a very positive attitude and outlook on having a good year.

But then reality has been kicking me in the head at every turn. It’s only one week into the new year and I have dealing with much loss. I have been helping friends deal with the loss of someone special in their lives; the loss of income in someone else’s and the the sad loss of love, relationship and marriage between friends.

I am still holding on to the hope that things will get better and the dim light that surrounds me and my friends will brighten up.

Hope. Remains.
Make Your Own Adventure.

I know I can’t wait to figure out what my next adventure will be!

Kate.

2 thoughts on “I Had Such High Hopes For This Year

  1. LISA says:

    I appreciate your blog more than you know. I recently – three weeks ago found out that my husband was sleeping with someone in our social circle. The pain is inexplicable. She has apologized and cried in remorse and guilt. So has he. I never saw it coming. Her husband came to my job to deliver the crushing news to hurt my husband who had always maintained he would not leave me. Nobody stopped to think of me and the children. They showed no moral obligation.

    • katesworld40 says:

      Lisa, I am so very sorry for your losses. So many loses to be counted. I am flattered that you appreciate my blog. I wish I would have come across your comment much sooner. I know you are hurting and devastated and angry. It’s ok to be all that and more. But YOU WILL SURVIVE THIS! You will be stronger for it. I know it didn’t feel that way for me for a very long time. But as I look back, I see how strong (to a fault) I have become. You will grow and you will flourish. I promise.

Leave a Reply

